The Board of Trustees comprises up to eleven nominated and elected members and is legally accountable for the running of the school.

As part of the Integration Agreement, the Board is bound to uphold the School’s Special Character. Its role is one of governance and its relationship with the Principal is a supportive one. All education matters are delegated to the Principal.

Copies of the School Charter and Integration Agreement are available for parents to read in the School Office.

Board Meetings

The Board meets regularly during the school year, twice per term, on a Monday night in the Administration Building. This meeting is advertised in the Grapevine and all members of the school community are welcome. Minutes, the correspondence list and reports to the Board are available in the office for parents to read. This is one way parents can be informed about the school’s activities and issues.

Board Membership

The Board comprises the following membership:

Up to 5 Parent Representatives
(elected for a 3 year term)
John Bartley
Esther Watson
Melissa Brignall-Theyer
Erin Simpson
Jess Soutar Barron
Co-opted membersN/A
Up to 4 Charitable Trustee nominees
(nominated by the Charitable Trustees)
Sue Simpson
James Taylor
The school’s Principal
One Staff Representative
(elected for a 3 year term by the staff)
Brendan Hamilton-Gibbs
One Student
(elected by the students in September each year)
Ray Solis
Board SecretaryRachel Williams
Board ChairpersonErin Simpson

The Rudolf Steiner School Hastings Trust is the legal owner of the school and is the body that enables the school to operate as a charity, to raise and disburse funds in connection with its charitable purposes. It is the Proprietor of the Integrated School and as such, the guardian of the school’s special character. It is a Board incorporated under the Charitable Trusts Act 1957. It also has charitable status for gifts and donations under the Finance Act.

Trust Membership

ChairpersonSue Simpson
TrusteesSue Simpson
John Hudson
James Taylor
Aimee Hawkes
Scott Jefferson
SecretaryRachel Williams